New year, new battery

Yuasa Battery

It’s been not even a year since I bough a battery lat time. I have to admit that I had problems with the original battery before (2 years old) and I had to buy the first one I met to get to home. The only one I could get was a Hungarian JP motorcycle battery. I got it, I put it to the motorcycle and everything was fine at the beginning.

But the issues started after 7-8 months.

The charging voltage on the motorcycle dropped below 14 Volts, it was mostly around 13.8 V and that’s very low. I thought that as the battery is new probably I have issues with the charging system of my Dragon. However I was wrong.

The JP battery survived the guarantee period (6 months) and no more!

Due to the COVID-19 I had no chance to ride. I don’t want to start it to go for a 4 km shopping. I have a CTEK MXS 5.0 battery charger and I always use that for battery maintenance. I used to charge it once a month, and I did not get the battery out from the motorcycle.

But the time has come: in Hungary we were allowed to ride.

I thought that putting the motorcycle on charger won’t hurt. I did not check that it was dead already, and in the evening I faced with one of the motorcyclist’s nightmare: the Dragon did not start! Of course it was clearly visible that the battery is dead. But imagine…

Standing near your motorcycle in a full outfit and realizing you won’t go anywhere is a pain.

I ordered a new Yuasa YTX12-BS AGM battery that arrived in 36 hours. Thank you, motoralkatresz.eu! Now I just need some time to prepare the battery and a good weather this week.

Leave a comment